Speedway Champions Crowned

By Cole Sorenson,


The 2016 season came to a dramatic close Saturday night at Western Speedway, with the Hydroforce Excavating Championship Night, featuring the LORDCO Auto Parts Demo Series, Nexx Financial Claimers, Marlin Motors Hornets, Wayne “The Train” Hart’s car jump, Rollover Contest, Boat Races, and a Total Destruction.


The Mini Figure 8 main event started with Aneil Pallan and Phil Lagan leading the field to the green. Brandon Young would jump out to an early lead before the red flag would come out on lap 4 for a hard collision between Nolan Perry and Jacob Burns. On the restart, Daryn Cahill would move into second, and on the last corner of the last lap, punted Brandon Young out of the way for the win. Cahill would also claim the season championship over Sam Lagan by 2 points. Heat race wins went to Daryn Cahill and Brenda Maber.


The Marlin Motors Hornet main was led to the green by Mika Leong and Aaron Hodgson. Braydon Aumen would jump out to an early lead before being passed by Mitch Melin on lap 8. Jason Day found his way up to second, and with just 4 laps to go, would make the move on Melin for the win. Melin, Gennifer Isles, Braydon Aumen, and Brenda Leslie would round out the top 5. Heat race wins went to Jason Day and Tyler Yates.


Shane Warde and Ryan McHale would lead the field to the green in the Nexx Financial Claimer main event. Ron Noulette would jump out to an early lead, followed by the fast closing Gord Percival. Percival would take the lead on lap 8, with Rhett Smith charging through the field to second. With two laps to go, Smith would take the lead from Percival, and held on for the win, finishing ahead of Percival, Ron Noulette, Ryan McHale, and Caleb Tims. Heat race wins went to Gord Percival and Jarrod Soberg. The season championship would go to Brian Calderwood, who won by 8 points over Bruce Knight.


Garth Armstrong and Ron Benham would make up the front row for the Bomber main event, with Benham jumping out to an early lead. Brian Wakelin would move into the top spot on lap 10. The caution would come out for a hard hit between Ron Benham and Gennifer Isles, with both drivers being knocked out for the rest of the main event. On the restart, Brian Baltis and Brad Aumen would battle for the lead, with Aumen coming out ahead. Mike Dionne would close in on the final lap, and briefly took the lead before tangling with a lap car, giving Aumen his fourth main event win of the season, and the Bomber championship. Heat race wins went to Ron Benham and Brad Aumen.


The Demo Cars and Trucks rolled out for their last main event of the season, with Stephen Bemister and Gerry Bernard leading the field to the green. Earlier in the first heat race, Bemister and Tyler Clough both flipped the length of the front straight, with Bemister being able to repair his car to start the main event. Keith Hansen would lead early on, before cutting a tire and being forced to pit. Cody Young would inherit the lead, and claimed his first main event win of the season. The Demo championship would go to Jaime Morgan, with Brandon Young being the highest placing truck. Heat race wins went to George Haywood and Shawn Young.


Western Speedway would like to thank all of the racers, fans and sponsors who helped to make the 2016 season such a success, and we hope to see you for another season of exciting racing action in 2017.

News Bulletins

2018 Registration Meeting

Feb 22, 7:00PM at the Safety Council Meeting (aka Mr Tubbs or Driving range building). Demo Cars/Trucks, Bombers, Claimers, Mini Figure 8's, Hornets, & Stock car Drivers are all encouraged to attend and register. 

2018 Season Passes on Sale Now!!! Just $150

Please contact Denise Salmon to purchase: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 250-361-7475

That's a wrap for the 2017 Season!

Thank you to all of our Fans, Racers, Volunteers, & Staff for a great season. See you all next year!


Don't miss out on the CRAZIEST night of the year!!! CRAZY WAYNE THE TRAIN CAR JUMP!!! MASSIVE TOTAL DESTRUCTION, BOAT RACES, Lordco Demo Series, Bombers, Loan Rangers Financial Claimers, as well as popular Country Band MONTGOMERY COUNTY LIVE on front strech throughout the event! 

Get your advance tickets now at the Market on Millstream or HERE!

Cash Advantage CHAMPIONSHIP NIGHT! Saturday September 16th

Featuring the Richlock Rentals Wilroc Sprint Cars, Galaxy Motors Stock Cars, Sooke Disposal Mini Stocks, Old Timers Racing Association, & Island Dwarf Cars

Get Advance tickets and Event Details Here

Tonight's Races are ON!! Light Rain or Shine!!

Come enjoy O'dell Slinger Service Superhero Night, featuring the WILSON's Transportation BUS RACES! LORDCO Demo Series, Twin 25's for Bombers, Loan Rangers Financial Claimers, Richlock Rentals Drifters, Marlin Motors Hornets, & a CAR ROLLOVER contest.

O'Dell Slinger Service SUPERHERO NIGHT! Saturday Sept 9

FREE ADMISSION for Kids 12 & under wearing SUPERHERO Costumes. Bring your kids out to meet their FAVOURITE SUPERHEROES! Wilson's Transportation BUS RACES, LORDCO Demo Series, Loan Ranger's Financial Claimers, Marlin Motors Hornets, Richlock Rentals Capital Drift, & a CAR ROLLOVER CONTEST! Don't miss out!


Reg Midgley Canada 200 & 2 Burley Men Moving BC Street Stock Invitational! This SATURDAY & SUNDAY!!!

Saturday Night: 75 laps for the Street Stocks, Late Model Qualifying & Heat Races, OTRA, Mini Stock, & Hornets!!

Sunday Night: 75 laps for the Street Stocks & The Reg Midgley Canada 200!!

Click below for Event Details

Wilson & Proctor Big Rig Weekend THIS Saturday Night!

Come watch Semi Trucks race wheel to wheel around Western Speedway! Advance tickets available at the Market on Millstream or ONLINE. Also on tap: Lordco Demo Series, Bombers, & Loan Ranger's Financial Claimers. Click HERE for Event details

Island Batteries Night at the Races! Saturday Aug 19!

Keg Late Models, Galaxy Motors Stock Cars, Sooke Disposal Mini Stocks, & Marlin Motors Hornets! 

Event Details and Advance Tickets HERE

Copyright © 2016. All Rights Reserved.